Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Nominations open for LSRI’s new STEM education award

LSRI is proud to announce that nominations are open for its new Wagreich award.

The Philip Wagreich STEM Education Award is an award of $500 given in recognition of an individualʼs contributions to the improvement of STEM education through scholarship and service.

This annual award competition is open to postdoctoral researchers, doctoral students and staff members affiliated with the Learning Sciences Research Institute at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

The Philip Wagreich STEM Education Award was established by the Learning Sciences Research Institute in memory of Dr. Philip Wagreich, a distinguished mathematician and educator. Dr. Wagreich was a role model for the substantive involvement of research mathematicians nationally in pre-college mathematics education. During the 1980s and 1990s, he and Professor Howard Goldberg used National Science Foundation grants to create the Teaching Integrated Mathematics and Science Project, which led to the development of the well-known Math Trailblazers K to 5 curriculum, first published in 1997 and now entering its 4th edition. Dr. Wagreich was also a co-founder of the Mathematicians and Education Reform Forum, a national clearinghouse that built a program of interconnected K to12, undergraduate and graduate level educational activities for mathematicians. He was a member of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematicsʼ Principles and Standards for School Mathematics writing team that developed standards for curriculum, teaching and evaluation in grades K to 12 in the early 1990s. Dr. Wagreich received the Excellence in Integrated Mathematics and Science Award from the School Science and Mathematics Association and the Max Beberman Award for contributions to mathematics education from the Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

Application Process: Nominations for the Award should consist of a statement of no more than 1000 words describing the accomplishments of the nominee with respect to the improvement of STEM education. Sufficient detail should be provided as to the nature of the contributions and their relevance to STEM education as well as actual or potential impact. Both scholarly contributions as well as professional service and impact on students and teachers should be emphasized. The nomination should include the names and contact information of 2-3 individuals who are knowledgeable about the contributions of the nominee and who have agreed to write a letter of support if contacted by the Awards Committee. Self-nominations are acceptable, as well as nominations by a third party. Only individuals who have not previously received this award are eligible to apply.

Applications should be sent via email to the Chair of the Award Committee, Dr. Alison Castro Superfine at

Application Deadline: August 15, 2013

The Award Committee will review applications for eligibility and letters of support will be solicited for potential awardees. The review process will be completed by mid-September and announcement of the award recipient and the award presentation will take place early in the fall semester.